1 of 2
1
running java application on MS surface emulator
Posted: 03 June 2010 03:11 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Joined  2010-06-02
Total Posts:  7
New Member

Ok, here is my problem which I don’t seem to be able to find a path to.

I have a java desktop application that I would like to get running on MS Surface(Simulator for now).  Now I cannot just run it because, obviously the app does not support the necessary calls to let the surface hardware know “hey, i’m up and running” and so it the surface simulator always times out when I try to run it. (i created the app xml entry file necessary to get it on the simulator..as the java program is actually installed on the computer hosting the simulator.

I am aware of Squidy and have downloaded and run the Squidy .net project in the simulator(which does nothing except map surface events to TUIO events).  But the question is can I achieve this with TUIO/Squidy at all?  Has anyone else successfully gotten a java(or other native or non-.net surface app) to run on the surface or the simulator using these tools?

Using any tools?

Thanks,

Grok

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-14
Total Posts:  1897
Dedicated

You need to create a surface application (using the surface application) that launch your java app… With this method, the surface shell will recieve the correct information that tell it that the app launched correctly…

 Signature 

One more but very useful blog : http://blog.cktouch.com/
Rear DI + Windows Seven = So Nice…
_________________________________________________

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2010-06-02
Total Posts:  7
New Member

but how do I map things form the “shell” surface app to my native java app?  like pushes/clicks/scrolls/zooms/etc?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-14
Total Posts:  1897
Dedicated

well your java app will then use the input you chose in the first place (tuio, wm_touch,...)

 Signature 

One more but very useful blog : http://blog.cktouch.com/
Rear DI + Windows Seven = So Nice…
_________________________________________________

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-14
Total Posts:  1897
Dedicated

if your java app uses TUIO, you need my ccv mod with dual tuio port communication.

 Signature 

One more but very useful blog : http://blog.cktouch.com/
Rear DI + Windows Seven = So Nice…
_________________________________________________

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:32 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Rank
Joined  2010-06-02
Total Posts:  7
New Member

So is this a case, where I would need to modify the code of my java app to respond to TUIO inputs?  I just need to be clear if there is extra development/porting work to be done or this can all be achieved via configuration.

BTW..thanks for taking the time to offer guidance on this....

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-14
Total Posts:  1897
Dedicated

Well what is the current input of your java app ?

 Signature 

One more but very useful blog : http://blog.cktouch.com/
Rear DI + Windows Seven = So Nice…
_________________________________________________

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:35 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-11-22
Total Posts:  525
Elite

wow, what a fast conversation.
@grok ui : what which input deos your java app use?
how are you GUN?

 Signature 

my 19” LCD setup ----> turned into new look
my 60” FTIR setup (old video)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Rank
Joined  2010-06-02
Total Posts:  7
New Member

Well its a standard java swing application that was already developed for standard desktop application, so mouse and keyboard are the current input

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-14
Total Posts:  1897
Dedicated

Well I assume you want to use touch for control it right ? you need to implement either tuio through the tuio api for java, or use WM_TOUCH as input (i recommend that) with the mt4j framework…

@vahid : i’m good thanks and you ?

 Signature 

One more but very useful blog : http://blog.cktouch.com/
Rear DI + Windows Seven = So Nice…
_________________________________________________

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Rank
Joined  2010-06-02
Total Posts:  7
New Member

We have a legacy java application that is a standard desktop swing app..not programed to handle any multitouch anything..but does have some native pan/scroll/zoom effects in a display area and I am researching for a customer that wants it to run on a MS surface, if it’s possible or if not what level of effort and types of tasks (programming/config) would be needed to make this work.  It has to run on Surface on surface OS

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-14
Total Posts:  1897
Dedicated

(stop quoting there is no need here, and if needed, use the correct tool for that)

Well if it is designed to run on surface, you need to use the surface sdk and C instead of java… But you should use first mt4j which implement basic function such the one you use with WM_TOUCH protocol which can be implement in surface with the latest multitouch vista tool…

 Signature 

One more but very useful blog : http://blog.cktouch.com/
Rear DI + Windows Seven = So Nice…
_________________________________________________

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Rank
Joined  2010-06-02
Total Posts:  7
New Member

Ok...so I am still unclear if I have to make code changes to the original swing/java app?

Thanks,

Chris

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 02:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-14
Total Posts:  1897
Dedicated

Well you’ll need to make some changes but I don’t think this is heavy stuff…

 Signature 

One more but very useful blog : http://blog.cktouch.com/
Rear DI + Windows Seven = So Nice…
_________________________________________________

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 03:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-11-22
Total Posts:  525
Elite

if you have to make apps for surface it is better to forget that java app or try converting it’s codes to WPF

 Signature 

my 19” LCD setup ----> turned into new look
my 60” FTIR setup (old video)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 June 2010 03:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRankRank
Joined  2009-04-14
Total Posts:  1897
Dedicated

yeah I think so too but he can try mt4j, quite esay to implement…

 Signature 

One more but very useful blog : http://blog.cktouch.com/
Rear DI + Windows Seven = So Nice…
_________________________________________________

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1